Friendly, honest, empathic

Grant (48) 

Male / Single / ID: 311113
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Seeking: Female 36 - 50 living in Japan
For: Penpal, Friendship, Romance / Dating, Marriage

Quick View
Education: PhD or Doctorate
Have children: No
Drink: Occasionally drink
Smoke: Don't smoke
Religion: No religion
Occupation: Medical / Dental / Veterinary

I am an Australian-born Medical Practitioner & former University Professor. Originally from Melbourne, Victoria; then 4 years in Sydney, NSW - then 4 years working in Pacific Islands, now back in Australia living/working in rural Victoria ... But soon heading to any/all of: Japan, Canada, New Z...read more >>

I am an Australian-born Medical Practitioner & former University Professor. Originally from Melbourne, Victoria; then 4 years in Sydney, NSW - then 4 years working in Pacific Islands, now back in Australia living/working in rural Victoria ... But soon heading to any/all of: Japan, Canada, New Zealand. My chosen vocation is/was Medical Education. In particular, teaching the fundamental principles of clinical (bedside) diagnosis and the essential skills required of a competent ‘first-port-of-call' ED physician/surgeon. Now I am mostly into just being a remote & rural medical practitioner. On life apart from medicine, I agree with Judy Garland (or was it Rose Tremain?) who quipped: "life is not a dress rehearsal" ... and so passionately embrace the concept of living each day to the full ! I'm into comedy, love, physical fitness, good food and playing percussion for the Fiji Funk Bros' (Jazz/Afro-Cuban/Calypso) and recording live music ... in any order or combination ... but can veg out, on the couch, in a pair of Ugg boots, scooping at a tub of Häagen-Dazs ice-cream, with the best of em! Admittedly, I am difficult to live and/or work with (hence still single). A perfectionist, competitive, impatient, intolerant (of mediocrity and cowardice). Gentle, kind and protective by nature, but also teasing and provocative ... Can be aggressive and combative when challenged or confronted by liars, cheats, bigots, bullies and the like ... Strong points: a creative, lateral thinker, ethical, empathic, loyal and honest. Weak points: in addition to being impatient and impulsive, I have a short fuse dealing with male bullies. I'm uncomfortable dealing socially with large groups of people ... A founding member of 'eBay anonymous' (for those addicted to binge buying of vintage toys and classic musical instruments !!) I am reclusive, rarely answer my phone, mildly eccentric and live alone with my pet dogs: 'Kevin' and 'Ruby' (Great Dane/Mastiff/Rhodesian Ridge-back crosses) who I love dearly. I'm into: Animal Welfare; Human Rights; Sarah Vaughan; Shirley Bassey; Eni Kumar and music played by real musicians: Jazz fusion, Soul/Motown/Stax, Ennio Morricone; Nino Rota; Reggae, Vude; Humour; Irony; Sarcasm; Satire; Dave Chappelle; Richard Pryor; Peter Cook and Dudley Moore; Robin Williams; Classic Movies; Arthouse and Cult Movies; Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers; South Pacific Islands; Organic Vegetables; Japanese, Korean and Thai Cuisines; Fijian Kokoda; French and Tasmanian Champagne; Sports: Snow Skiing, Swimming, Jogging, Cycling, Golf; Double Malt Milkshakes with extra ice-cream. ;-) I particularly love animals, ALL animals, both domestic & wild, and am an avid (but not ya tree-huggin') conservationist. I do not accept violence of any kind (especially if directed towards women, children or animals) and abhor any violation of personal and civil rights. I don't trust politicians or lawyers. I believe that unsanctioned pre-emptive war is absolutely wrong. The place to resolve international conflicts is the UN security council. With all its shortcomings, it is currently the only civilized option and the place for dictators and despotic tyrants is in the dock of the World Court - The Hague. Revenge; retribution; assassinations; terrorism and the unilateral invasions of any country have no moral or ethical validity. Once all the serious topics are out of the way ... I am really about having fun, sharing a laugh and enjoying listening too, and playing, live music ...

<< collapse

About Grant

He's Looking For

Basic  [ hide unanswered questions ] 
Gender: Male Female
Age: 48 36 - 50
Lives in: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia Japan
Relocate: Willing to relocate to another country Any
Appearance 
Hair color: Light Brown Any
Hair length: Shaved Any
Hair type: Wavy Any
Eye color: Blue Any
Eye wear: None Any
Height: 6'2" (188 cm) Any
Weight: 90 kg (198 lb) Any
Body style: Athletic Any
Ethnicity: Mixed Asian, Mixed
Facial hair: Mustache N/A
Best feature: My Eyes Any
Body art: None Any
Appearance: Average Any
Lifestyle 
Drink: Occasionally drink Occasionally drink
Smoke: Don't smoke Don't smoke
Marital Status: Single Any
Have children: No Any
Number of children: N/A Any
Oldest child: N/A Any
Youngest child: N/A Any
Want (more) children: Not Sure Any
Have pets: Dog,Horse Any
Occupation: Medical / Dental / Veterinary Any
Employment status: Full Time Any
Income: Prefer not to say Any
Home type: House Any
Living situation: Live Alone Any
Background / Cultural Values 
Nationality: Australia Any
Education: PhD or Doctorate Any
Languages spoken: English Any
English ability: Fluent Fluent, Very Good, Good, Some
Japanese ability: Some Any
Religion: No religion Any
Chinese sign: Tiger Any
Star sign: Libra Any
Hobbies & Interests
Entertainment: Antiques, Ballet, Beach / Parks, Camping / Nature, Concerts / Live Music, Cooking / Food and Wine, Dining Out, Music (Listening), Music (Playing), Movies / Cinema, Pets, Photography
Food: French, Middle Eastern, Caribbean/Cuban, Chinese / Dim Sum, Japanese / Sushi, Thai, Korean, Vegetarian / Organic, Mediterranean, Vietnamese
Music: Classical / Opera, Jazz / Blues, Pop, Reggae, World
Sport: Canoe / Kayak, Cycling, Golf, Hiking, Horse Riding, Jogging / Running, Scuba Diving / Snorkeling, Skiing / Snowboarding, Squash / Racquetball, Surfing, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis / Badminton

I am friendly, warm, attentive, but cheeky, and a little mischievous (humour wise) but honest, sensitive and always ready for a laugh, groove to some musical rhythm or to lend a helping hand to a person or animal in need ... and wish to communicate with like-minded souls !!

Cupid Media, the Cupid Media Logo and JapanCupid.com are registered trademarks of Ecom Holdings Pty Ltd and used with permission by Cupid Media Pty Ltd.